Change Mode

Getting a Virus from a JPG

I was reading at a Yahoo group about getting viruses and someone asked this question: “Is it possible to trigger a virus simply by opening

email? I've been advised to turn off "preview panes"

(and did that). Also, is there any truth to the story that opening an image file, like JPG or GIF, can launch a virus?”

Someone answered “Yes to both questions”. Was his answer correct?

I did not think that you could get a virus from a .jpg or just by opening a email with out clicking on an attachment.

I hope that this is not too stupid of a question to ask here. This is my first time posting at the “Viruses, Spyware, Adware” forum But now I am concerned about clicking on a .jpg at someone’s website. I am an artist and I look at many paintings and drawings from my group members at Yahoo and other websites. So far I have not gotten a virus from someone’s artwork.

I am now concerned about getting a virus or a Trojan horse from just looking at artwork.

If anyone can give me insight to thiuestion it will be appreciated.

Ok I'm not an expert, just experienced. There are a lot of things that can "trigger" a virus if it is sitting there and written in a way to be triggered in certain ways. So it must be possible to trigger a virus by clicking on an image file. But if you have an anti-virus running then I wouldn't be paranoid about opening a jpg file or clicking on a jpg on a website.

If you're running Outlook Express you could go to Tools/options/security and click the box to not allow attachements to be saved or opened that could potentially be a virus. This would stop *.exe files and similar ones but I just checked and it allowed a jpg to get to me without prompting.

Just be careful about attachements you click on. A file could be named BotticelliVenus.jpg.exe and so the file is a jpg at first glance but really it is an exe file and a program will be executed when you click on it.