Sign in to follow this  
Scaramouche

Ax Slinger And/or Cajuntek: Zerospyware Not Bogus

Hello PC Pitstop community;

This will probably not win me friends but I can't seem to get a handle on either party to sort this out so I decided I would post it here.

I'm a product manager at FBM Software, makers of ZeroSpyware and ZeroAds. I'm newish to the job, having only been here for two months but I've been pretty interested in spyware and it's removal basically since I stumbled on www.lavasoft.de as a young man quite a long time ago. I figured that part of my new job was to see what the 'hardcore' anti-spyware community thought of our product, so I started hitting some of the major forums and doing some research. Unfortunately, a lot of people don't seem to know we exist :) Even more unfortunately, the product seems to be listed on various 'bogus'/scam lists marking it either as adware itself or some fly by night cash-in on spyware's mind-share. The list I'm specifically referring to here is found at Ax Slinger's reference site, http://pcpitstop.ibforums.com/axslinger/he...files/bogus.htm . I've seen the list in several forms throughout the internet, though the link is always to Ax Slinger's site and the list itself is usually credited to CajunTek.

I'm here to assure you that ZeroSpyware is not bogus. We were recently removed from WebHelper's TheWatchersList ( http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcherlist.html ) as a suspected scam after I contacted him. I have also e-mailed the venerable Eric L. Howes ( http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm ) to hopefully have us removed from his list. I should point out that we weren't doing anything wrong, and that our inclusion on these lists is basically a mistake (e.g., there was no past wrong-doing that we somehow cleaned up to get off a list).