Change Mode

Network Cables

dark

right... at networking im a complete newb! noob! however you say it...

anyways.. i know what a rj45 cable is... but does a cat5e do the same... or is it slower or faster or something.. and can i connect it to a ethernet port? between 2 computers to make a mini network?

I could be wrong...but isn't cat5 the cable, and rj-45 the connector? It's kinda' confusing unless you hear it from someone who knows...someone around here does.

But as for connecting two computers, you'll need either a cable called a crossover cable to connect them directly, or just a network cable, the modem, and a router.

well..

when i go for a lan at a mates.. he uses a patch cable... so im guessing it is a rj45... but then again i couldnt be wrong.. we pinched it from our local school :woot: gutted they were.......

so the cat5e.. is the cable...and rj45 the connection on the end?

but i got 2 computers at this house.. and i have the net on my computer.. and was going to buy a cable to network both machines to the net.. through mine.. cos i dont turn it off at all..

i need to go downstairs.. and its at least 15 meters... so it'll cost 10£ for teh cat5e.. or.. something like... 30£ for the rj45....

thats why im wondeing...

anyone else know about them?

EDIT:right.. im going around in circles here.. i cant even understand what i just wrote.. so

this is the cable

Edited by dark

Cat5 is the type of cable. RJ-45 is is the connector on the end of the cable.

To Connect two computers directly to each other then you need a Crossover cable, if your sharing internet via ICS or thrid party software then the main computer needs to have two nic cards.

the cat5 is standard networking cable.

Rj-45 is the connector on the end of a cat5 cable.

cat5(x) where x stands for any letter (usually e or g) means that the cable is a fater variant of the cat5 cable, I'm not sure how many variants they have.