Sign in to follow this  
Windsurf48

Applying thermal paste

I've been using thermal paste for over 20 years, but in the past month I've run into problems applying two different ones, Thermalright TFX and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut.  Both come with applicators and instructions to spread a thin, even layer of thermal paste over the heat spreader.  The problem is that neither paste wants to spread evenly, or I haven't been able to figure out the technique needed to do this.  Both want to clump and both want to stick to the applicator more than the heat spreader.  In both cases, the heat spreader had been cleaned thoroughly using ArctiCleaner Thermal Material Remover and Surface Purifier, which I've been using for 10 years or so.

Most of the thermal pastes I've used in the past had instructions to put a pea-sized drop of paste in the center of the heat spreader or a thin down the middle, but a few have recommended spreading a  thin layer of paste and that hasn't been a problem previously.  Have thermal pastes become harder to spread evenly? Has anyone used either the Thermalright TFX or Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut successfully?

I've never used either of those, I strictly use MX-4 and use the pea sized dob application method and haven't had a problem one. 

Ymmv,

Tx 

The pea-sized blob method won't work with the big AMD Threadripper rectangular heat spreaders, although a line down the middle might.  Noctua recommended a pattern of nine small blobs and four larger blobs, but that ended up with way too much thermal paste.  I may have to try a line down the center, take it off immediately to verify the results, and then try an adjusted amount.

I always use Akassa; small blob each corner, small blob in the middle  and spread.

I'll experiment with the corner and center blob approach.