NASA reboot in search for life

http://www.aol.com/article/2015/04/28/nasa-rebooting-its-search-for-life-beyond-earth-thanks-to-exopla/21176618/?icid=maing-grid7%7Cmain5%7Cdl19%7Csec3_lnk3%26pLid%3D-1331770719

Could this be a boost to SETI@home seeing new participants?

NASA hasn't funded the project since 1992 and congress killed it's budget less than a year later. There's still volunteers out there crunching SETI to help find life out there somewhere!

I'm thinking about putting together another machine to run SETI now!! The universe is so massively large, I don't believe it's possible we are the only life in existence.

I used to think the universe was teeming with life - That we'd end up freely traversing the solar systems like in Star Trek or Star Wars - 1000's of different species of different state of advancement.

Then I studied the Drake Equation as part of my university course and it changed my mind. There is probably life out there; more than likely in our own solar system, it's probably full of micro biological life from Mars, the Jovian moons, Saturns moons and possibly as far away as one of the rocks that surround Pluto; but none of it intelligent; even in the wider Milkyway or our local Galaxy Cluster; advanced life even to our level is probably so rare, we may be the only ones alive at this point in time.

For those who are not aware of the equation it tries to equate the number of advanced civilisations based on assumptions

• How old is the universe
  • How quickly can stars form
  • % of those stars that may have a solar system
  • Potential number of life bearing planets in that solar system
  • And for me the most important one : How long can a civilisation last

It was never meant to be a true mathematical formula more a philosophical approach to the possibility of advanced life elsewhere.