Sign in to follow this  
EmmaCurtis

Iomega External Hard Drive Needs Formatting

Hi

I have an iomega external hard drive which has music files and photographs on that cannot be replaced. This has been working fine until now.. I plug in my laptop usb and it comes up with a message saying that this drive needs formatting before use.. I am a complete novice but to my understanding if I do this it will delete all my files on the HD

I needs some advice as this HD belonged to my brother who recently passed away and so this is very important to me not to mess up.. I cannot afford to pay a lot of money to sort this out so if anyone has any solutions I would be grateful.. needs to be in plain english as well please

Many thanks in advance

Emma x

Good morning and :wp: Ms Curtis,

Are you able to disregard the warning and view the files?

Unfortunately no matter how I try i cannot view the files. If I try to auto play or browse files it tells me the drive is not accessable the parameters are incorrect or that it does not hold the correct file format

OK, what operating system are you using on your computer?

OK, try it like this. Connect the drive and make sure it's powered on then reboot the machine. If it tells you that it wants to run check disk on it @ boot, please allow it to.

If it doesn't, we'll try a different approach.

I have the hard drive plugged in on boot and no message comes up immediatly.. eventually it says the disk needs to be formatted before use.. when I go to my computer it shows as disk G.. but in devices it comes up as the iomega HD but still cannot access either way .. have tried it in all usb ports.. (thank you for your help btw)

Tried to do this but it says windows cannot access the disk

Does it give you this screen/error?

Posted Image

cant see this image sorry

Sorry, how about now?

Posted Image