Xp Hangs On Welcome Screen Will Work In Safe Mode

Hi, Sorry if I've posted this on wrong forum.

Few days ago my laptop started to hang at the blue Welcome screen on startup - the only way to fix was turn off. I managed to start in Safe Mode eventually however I receive a screen showing a lot of drivers the last one ending in ....mup.sys (I think). I tried a number of Restore Points however none of them finished properly.

I'm not very technical so any assistance/advice is appreciated.

The last Known Good Configuration Option didn't work either. When in Safe Mode I've run Malwarebytes Ant-Malware and Advanced System Care scan closed down and re-started normally and it still hangs at blue Welcome screen.

System is Dell

MS Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 3.

Intel Pentium ® M processor 1.73 GHz

Edited by nadnerb

I receive a screen showing a lot of drivers the last one ending in ....mup.sys

The cause is unlikely to be Mup.sys, but rather the subsequent part of the boot process.  Since system restore has not been helpful, I assume registry corruption isn't involved.

Start in Safe Mode, then click Start and Run.  Type Chkdsk /R and click OK.  Type Y and Enter at the prompt, then restart the computer normally.  Disk error checking and repair will be performed during startup.

If the problem persists, apply the default BIOS settings**, unplug all USB and Firewire devices and hubs, plus parallel and serial port devices, then power up.  If the system boots normally, plugging in the devices one or a few at a time and restarting should identify the culprit.

[** Note that the extended system configuration data (ESCD) in BIOS usually isn't reset when defaults are selected.  Select the "update ESCD' option if it exists.]