Notfred's SMP under VM with GPU

RAH

This is taken from one of several sites that have it posted. Works great for me and others. Just post if you have

questions or troubles.

Part 1 of 2

Guide: Running notfred's in VMWare Player, with a USB flash drive, that saves and restores.

This setup uses Windows XP. A dual core cpu. And VMWare Player. Vista users can use this for a general blueprint.

This is a general guide that works for me. I am by no means an expert. Feel free to modify as needed.

My goal was to make it easy enough to understand, that even my grandmother could set it up.

1. Get a USB flash drive. 512megs or more. Plug it in, and make sure Windows recognizes it.

We need to format it to FAT. Make sure all important info has been copied from the USB stick.

Go to Start -- My Computer -- and right click on the drive letter that has the USB stick.

Choose format -- change FAT32 to FAT -- then click start. Don't use quick format. We want a thorough FAT format.

Once finished formatting, close the window, and pull the stick out, and plug it back in.

Once again, make sure Windows recognizes it.

2. Make a folder on the hard drive and call it whatever you like. We'll call it -- notfreds

Go to notfred's CD generator http://reilly.homeip.net/folding/cd.html and generate an ISO and download it to that folder.

3. Download VMWare Player (currently 2.5.3) and install it. http://www.vmware.com/download/player/

4. In order for VMPlayer to recognize the USB stick. We need to get the VID (Vendor ID) and the PID (Product ID)

That's why I said to make sure Windows recognized the stick. That info is now in the registry. Let's grab it.

Go to Start -- run -- type in regedit and click ok. Now we are in the registry editor. Be careful not to change anything.

We are only looking for the VID and PID info. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Enum\USB\