Please link me to description of what benchmarks mean

I did actually buy the optimise product but that's another story.

I don't understand how an entire article can not describe in high level terms what the number means

I don't really care if one number is bigger than another unless there is a quick link to what it means.

For example, a value of

http://techtalk.pcpitstop.com/2008/04/03/w...0-in-dog-years/

Why is there no link in the article explain the numbers?

What would anybody publish number without UNITS.

I am actually a computer scientist. Not an expert in performance or anything but it takes 5 minutes to provide a unit for a measurement.

Why is this not easily visible.

Why am a going to buy a tool that does not tell me what it is measuring? Easily.

This should be the FIRST thing I'm told.

:wp:

The numbers don't 'mean' anything other than "higher is better". They are a way of quantifying the performance of specific computer hardware and software confiigurations.

The 'scores' are an arbitrary number arrived at by running some specific tests on a computer and then arbitrarily assigning a numeric value to those results. The tests will typically measure how many frames per second can be displayed using a controlled animation sequence. The FPS is then used to calculate a score.

The formula for each of the Futuremark 3D product scores is as follows, where GT1 = Game Test 1, FPS = frames per second, etc:

3DMark2001 Calculation Formula

(Game Tests Low x 10) + [(Game Tests High + Nature) x 20]

3DMark2003 Calculation Formula

(GT1 FPS x 7.3) + (GT2 FPS x 37) + (GT3 FPS x 47.1) + (GT4 FPS x 38.7)

3DMark2005 Calculation Formula

[(GT1 FPS + GT2 FPS + GT3 FPS) / 3] x 250

3DMark2006 Calculation Formula

2.5 x (1 / [(1.7 / [( SM2.0 Score + HDR/SM3.0 Score ) x 0.5]) + 0.3 / CPU Score) / 2])