Change Mode

Applications for Vista

Hello. I am new to Vista and would like to know what applications i.e.; Ad Aware, Spybot S&D etc, would be good "Freeware" to use. My I.P. supplies McAfee as a anti-virus. I currently only have "C.C." but I would appreciate any other advice in what else would be prudent to use. Are programs like Ad Aware, Spybot still as helpful as they were with older O.S.'s? Thank you for your time and expertise, it is appreciated.

"Peace"

What programs in particular do you want to know about?

Your post is kind of vague.

What's C.C.?

Adaware is crap IMO but will work in Vista, so will Spybot.

Generally speaking though, programs that worked in XP will work in Vista.

This has been asked and answered many times now, so rather than go into length I will just post a list of what works on both 32bit and 64bit Vista:-

a-squared Free

avast!

Belarc Advisor

Comodo BOClean

CWShredder

Hosts (Vista has special instructions)

Iconix

LinkScanner

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

SiteAdvisor

Spybot-S&D

SpywareBlaster

SpywareGuard

SUPERAntiSpyware

ThreatFire

WinPatrol

Sorry for my vagueness. C.C. is called Crap Cleaner it is an app. that cleans up your registry,cookies & temp. files.

As I have already stated, Vista is new to me and I like to keep my computer (laptop) operating as well as possible. In the past (O.S.'s) I always used the following applications; Spyblaster,AdAware,Spybot S&D & Steve Gould's Windows Clean-up. I would like your advice on what are the best applications to keep my computer clean and operating as well as possible. I believe the people at this forum are among st the best so if you would be so kind as to give me your advice on the best applications to run with Vista, I would be grateful.