Change Mode

Calling all nvidia users

As a system builder i get to test and try all types of hardware and have noticed recently a major problem with nvidia drivers.

Some earlier cards work fine with original drivers but lost performance when using updated drivers!

More recent cards i.e 8800 gt gtx and the new 9 series dont even work well with bundled drivers.

Ive found a soulution it can somtimes be a time consuming process but is well worth it in the long run.

first go to http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us

Then enter series,model,os etc...... and it will list all drivers ever released for that card.

Now the NVIDIA Recommended drivers dont always work but downloading them first is your best bet.

This is how to test your card run a pc pit test and check the 2D score. All top of the line cards for each series should score atleast 300 from the 6 series onwards. Run this test with your original drivers first to get some sort of idea what your score is. If it passes the 300 mark for the 6+7 series your ok and 400+ for 8+9 series.

If you beleve your card aint performing like it should you can then download NVIDIA Recommended drivers. uninstal your original driver restart when prompted then install downloaded drive, once complete run another test your score will either improve or decrease. if there was no change or a decrease try the WHQL Certified realeases starting from the earliest realease onwards untill you get the score you would expect.

If you cannot increase your score atall you might be considered as having 1 of the thousands of faulty cards that are on sale or maybe have some other hardware issue.

I had a Radeon 9600 Pro that scores higher than the 8800GTX on the pit. In no way is the pit any kind of a reasonable benchmark. It's a 2D test, which is in no way indicative of 3D performance whatsoever.