Sign in to follow this  
brunaghot

Can't Uninstall AVG

First I`d like to warn you all that I`m just a beginner here, please be patient.

I have a computer (with Win XP Starter Edition) that came with AVG installed but recently it was with an error and wasn't updating anymore, I tried to do it manually through the Grisoft site and even to download the 7.5 version. Nothing worked so I went and got Avast and it managed to detect 2 viruses.

But the pc became super slow and I read somewhere that it wasn't good to have two antiviruses running simultaneously. The problem is that now I can't uninstall AVG:

It doesn't show in that remove and install Control Panel tool;

in the program folder there isn't any recognizable uninstalling file;

and the uninstalling way I found everywhere, telling you to download the the last installation file run it and chose the uninstalling option, doesn`t work either because it asks for a key I don`t have before it starts.

So, any help here? I'm lost...

Edited by brunaghot

Is your computer still going slow? If so you may want to post a HJT log in the appropriate forum..

Is AVG still running/working? for the mean time, if you can disable any real-time protection for it then do so because it will contribute to a slow computer. Someone else will know how to get rid of it.

Note: don't disable avast. Try looking for the uninstall file in C:\>Program Files>Grisoft

Edited by adam22

Try this

Boot your computer into Safemode

* Go to Start> Shut Off your Computer> Restart

* As the computer starts to boot-up, Tap the F8 KEY somewhat rapidly.

* This will bring up a menu.

* Use the Up and Down Arrow Keys to scroll up to Safemode

* Then press the Enter on your Keyboard

Tutorial if you need it

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial61.html

How to start Windows in Safe Mode

Go to My Computer->Tools->Folder Options->View tab:

[*]Under the Hidden files and folders heading:

[*]Select - Show hidden files and folders.