Change Mode

"Good" CPU Temperatures

Hi :

I just overclocked my system for the first time, and hoped somebody could give me an idea of what CPU temperatures under different conditions are acceptable.

System : Q6600 + 4GB Kingston PC8500 RAM + Gigabyte P35 Mobo + GT8800 Video etc

Settings : CPU 3.0GHz, RAM 1000MHz

Software : Temp monitored using Core Temp v0.96, stress tests with Sandra Lite

I fitted a half-decent cooler (after giving up on the pathetic plastic rivets and screwing the damn thing carefully to the PCB), my case is full of fans.

I am a power electronics engineer by trade, and I would normally target Tjmax - 25C or < 100C as reasonable design objectives, but something tells me that a multi-million FET CPU needs a bit more TLC than a 1200A 1700V IGBT.

I have a "quiescent" CPU temp (i.e. as I write this) of 38C (on a 20C ambient), and running the Sandra stress tests (which all completed without error) I saw a peak of 63C.

Here are my questions :

1 - Is the software I'm using to monitor temps and stress the CPU reasonable ? Anybody know of a problem with these ? Any suggestions for better stuff ?

2 - Do these temperatures sound reasonable ? I know that temperature is more about longevity than immediate failure (I assume the CPU shuts itself down if I take the heatsink off), so there's no real hard-and-fast answer, but do you experienced OC'ers out there think these temps are OK ?

Thanks

Gary