Photo storage on computer

Hi!

I'm a real novice, so please excuse my dumb questions....

I'm using a Compaq, 503 MB, Windows XP.

I have a Kodak EasyShare Dock that I use to get the pictures from my digital Kodak camera to the computer. My software of choice for handling the photos once they are there is Picasa.

My problem is this: I have photos in "My Pictures", in Kodak, in My Documents/My Pictures, and in Picasa. Some are duplicated, some only appear once, and some appear everywhere. I DON'T HAVE A CLUE which are the originals (which I don't want to delete), which are duplicates, and which are "pointers". Can anyone help me? I think I would really like to put all of the photos in one place! Thanks!

Edited by bjclark

My problem is this: I have photos in "My Pictures", in Kodak, in My Documents/My Pictures, and in Picasa

Ya i bet you do ,well first i put pictures only in my pictures ,i make a master folder for all pictures i download from my camera,For one very good reason ,if your going to touch up any of your photos and mess it up you have a copy untouched in your master folder ... not sure why your running picsa not needed for one ,two i don`t know if you have a memory card in your camera if so use it ,to download your pictures onto yourcomputer ,then you can kill both kodak and picasa . then your pictures will be in one place...

when i want or need to edit or print out pictures you can then use either of the programs .i don`t, i use roxio 7 for fast printing ,to touch up any photos i use both photoshop and or roxio to remove redeye and cropping

and to use any folder in the master send it out to my documents then drag it back into my pictures ,just made sure you name every folder you make for your new pictures date and name

IE 7-7-07 Moms-80th B-DAY or suzie 10th class reunion

fast to find instaed of the numbers your camera want to use ...

on programs there are many out there to use i just named two out of 4 i use myself

Edited by tw2