Sign in to follow this  
guido hatzis

Dvd burner wont burn

i have a problem with my burner it is a _NEC ND 5100A burner and it will not burn anything including cd's or dvd's. My laptop is a Compaq Presario 2100. I bought it in London and i am now back in Australia. Can you help me fix this problem. I do not have much experience flashing firmware but I can follow directions to the letter. the cpu is Amd.

A quick Google of that model number suggests that you are not on your own with that problem. Having read some of the comments I would suggest you cut your losses and install a different brand.

Probably not what you wanted to hear but it could save a lot of time and effort.

Apologies if I am invading on this thread. But I am a real noob when it comes to burning DVDs. I have a little problem, I tried burning some DVD vob format to a DVD+RW disc but it seems that none of my player can play the disc, except on the PC that I did the burning.

I had used the following file converter for conversion of AVI to DVD format.

"SUPER, Simplified Universal Player Encoder & Renderer. A GUI to ffmpeg, mencoder, mplayer, ffmpeg2theora & the theora/vorbis RealProducer plugIn. If you need a simple, yet very efficient tool to convert (encode) or play any Multimedia file, without reading manuals or spending long hours training, then SUPER © is all you need. Supports most video formats and also portable formats for PSP, PS3, iPod, Zune, PocketPC and NEC, Nokia, Siemens, SonyEricsson mobiles. "

It is a free ware. I am using NTI CD & DVD Maker 7 to do the burning.

It works fine if I am converting over to Mpeg format, my players are able to play the disc but unfortunately doesn't work when it comes to DVD.

Appreciate if anyone could provide me with some guidance if I am missing a step some where. Thanks.

Edited by mattboy