Sign in to follow this  
mattrmiller

Vista: Not an XP Replacement

Most of the basic configurations sold by PC makers right now do not meet the hardware requirements for Vista

Most "BASIC" computers dont really run XP very well. ie: 256mb ram :rofl2:

Full article available at http://pcpitstop.com/news/rob/rcheng0609.asp

Whilst I fully endorse the subject of your article, I have to comment on the emphasis you have put. My notebook is now nearing a year old, and I have now been using Windows Vista for over a month.

Although still in beta stages, the system is particularly stable... especially the RC1 build which feels faster than Windows XP installed on this same machine.

I work as a developer and spend my evenings twiddling in 3D, and would therefore notice any drastic performance decrease.

It is very true that Windows Vista can be assimilated to a 'pig' when compared to an ant like Windows XP, the requirements are indeed heavy... but the over all resource management is far more efficient and fine grained than ever before.

Likewise I still agree with you in that the normal everyday user should stay away from Windows Vista until it stabilizes further, maybe close to a year from now... though personally the only times my vista crashes is when I try to install some unsupported/incompatible software. Otherwise, it is a true gem!