Change Mode

Do external Hard drives need defragging?

I get daily e-mails from Lockergnome's Problem Solvers, and today a concern came in about a pc user defragging an external drive and after defrag was completed, the pc did not recognize the external HD and could not get to valuable files. A response to this problem told the user that external HD's should not be defragged and did not actually need it.

Is this correct? Doesn't sound right, but then I'm a novice.

Thanks and will wait for a response.

Never owned an external hdd, but it seems to me that one would be hard to get fragmented. Usually the only way to fragment a drive is using the programs on it. How often would you do that with an external?

Edited by dickster

Depends on who you want to believe. Like 99% of computer and

there are plenty of opinions. My thinking is:

Defrag Your Hard Drive

Defragging your hard drive doesn't improve performance.

Defragging does improve reliability, however: A

fragmented drive is sure to encounter more problems.

You should defrag once or twice a month.

And now to explode another myth: There is no reason

to buy a third-party defragger. The one that comes

with Windows works just fine.

:geezer:

i have an external hard drive for storage, transfer and back-up. As stated above it doesn't get seriously fragmented for these applications. I have defragged it about once a month for the past couple of years. No problems.

Mine gets fragmented, Alot its a 160 gig NTFS external Hardrive. Idont' run anything off of it. I just upload Ghost Images, and anythign i download to it. I usually find it from time to time that it has to move the big ghost images somewhere else.

I also think it has to do with a setting. Mine is set to beready to be turned off at any time. I'm gonna gues if it was set different it would fragment but thats my opinion.

Depends on who you want to believe. Like 99% of computer and

there are plenty of opinions. My thinking is:

Defrag Your Hard Drive